Our network

2012 Ga. Schools of Excellence named | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

2012 Ga. Schools of Excellence named
2012 Ga. Schools of Excellence named

ATLANTA -- The Georgia Department of Education has identified the state's 2012 Schools of Excellence.

The annual honor is presented in two categories: Highest Performance and Highest Progress. Fourteen schools made the cut in each area.

"These schools are the epitome of excellence," Georgia School Superintendent Dr. John Barge said in a statement. "I offer my congratulations to our 2012 Georgia Schools of Excellence."

Barge added that he plans to visit all 28 schools at some point during the school year.

Metro Atlanta's Schools of Excellence include:

Atlanta Public Schools
* KIPP STRIVE Academy, Southwest Atlanta (Progress)

Bremen City
*Jones ES (Performance)

Clayton County
* Elite Scholars Academy, Morrow (Performance)

Cobb County
* Garrison Mill ES, Marietta (Progress)
* Kennesaw Charter Science and Math Academy (Progress)

Decatur City
* Oakhurst ES (Performance)

DeKalb County
* DeKalb Early College Academy, Stone Mountain (Progress)

Fayette County
* McIntosh HS, Peachtree City (Progress)

Forsyth County
* Big Creek ES, Cumming (Progress)

Fulton County
* Hembree Springs ES, Roswell (Performance)

Gwinnett County
* Harris ES, Duluth (Performance)
* R.D. Head ES, Lilburn (Performance)
* Mulberry ES, Auburn (Performance)
* Frank N. Osborne MS, Hoschton (Progress)

Hall County
* World Language Academy, Flowery Branch (Progress)

Marietta City
* Marietta Center for Advanced Academics (Performance)

Learn more about the Georgia Schools of Excellence program at doe.k12.ga.us.