Our network

9 Ga. schools named National Blue Ribbon Schools | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

9 Ga. schools named National Blue Ribbon Schools
9 Ga. schools named National Blue Ribbon Schools

ATLANTA -- Nine schools in Georgia have been named to one of the most prestigious education lists in the country.

The schools -- eight public and one private -- are Georgia's latest National Blue Ribbon Schools. The distinction is given annually by the U.S. Department of Education to schools where students operate at very high levels and work hard to close the achievement gap.

"National Blue Ribbon Schools are another shining example of great things happening in Georgia schools," State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge said in a statement. "These eight schools are to be commended for their outstanding student performance. I am excited for these students, teachers and staff that they were recognized on a national level for excellence.

Georgia's 2013 National Blue Ribbon Schools are:

* Daves Creek Elementary (Forsyth County)
* Fair Oaks Elementary (Cobb County)
* Marietta Center for Advanced Academics
* Middle Ridge Elementary (Newton County)
* Mountain Park Elementary (Fulton County)
* St. Catherine of Siena Catholic School (Kennesaw)
* Sugar Hill Elementary (Hall County)
* Tritt Elementary (Cobb County)
* Webster County High

Blue Bell Creameries plans to bring special surprises to each of the winning schools in the near future.

"At Blue Bell, we are firm believers in recognizing the importance and encouraging and honoring schools for educational excellence," Blue Bell president and CEO Paul Kruse said in a statement. "This is Blue Bell's way of showing how proud we are!"

Learn more about the Blue Ribbon Schools program at ed.gov.

Local schools violate fire safety codes (See how your school ranked)
- See how your school did on the 2013 CRCTs